Tales of the unexpected

Fox graffiti
Look, a fox! (source: http://londonist.com/2011/02/fox-graffiti-in-north-west-london-mapped)

If you’ve looked at this blog before, you’ll probably know that I’m nearing the end of the wonderful MSc in digital education at Edinburgh University. (In fact, I’m now starting to worry that I’ll have nothing to blog about once I finally graduate.)

Going back into higher education can have some unexpected effects on you, so I thought I’d share some of my own experiences here.

  1. Doing even a small research project can change the way you look at the world. For example, one idle Saturday morning I found myself questioning the epistemological position of Dr Scott, the paleontologist in Dinosaur Train (my three-year-old’s favourite TV programme).
  2. You find yourself revealing unexpected things to the tutors and your fellow students, the vast majority of whom you’ve never met face to face. My forum and blog postings ranged from sharing intimate details about my childhood to talking about the time I once saw a fox crossing the road.
  3. I expected returning to education at the age of 36 to be much more intimidating than it actually was. It turns out you can get a hell of a lot more done if you’re not going out drinking three nights a week, playing football all weekend and occasionally throwing up in flower beds. (Little glimpse into my life as an undergraduate there.)
  4. You can study almost anywhere. I read all of Audrey Watters‘ e-book while waiting in A&E for stitches in my hand after an unfortunate incident involving a bow saw and a Christmas tree.
  5. A little knowledge can be a dangerous thing. On several occasions I’ve terrified my boss with my (relatively) outlandish suggestions and my almost uncontrollable urge to scream ‘bullshit!’ whenever anyone says the words ‘learning styles‘.

Now, back to the dissertation writing…

Leave a Reply

