Onwards and upwards

2016-12-19-10-15-44-127Some people have been describing 2016 as the worst year in history. There are many reasons to mourn 2016 – from the loss of beloved icons to frankly bonkers political developments – but in my little world this has been a year of regeneration.

Firstly, I completed the MSc in digital education at Edinburgh University. Graduation was an unexpectedly joyous affair; looking up from the podium and seeing my wife and children will stay with me forever. Without getting too X Factor about it, graduation represented not just the culmination of lots of hard work but the end of a period of grieving so it felt like a watershed.

15252468_10154088889813027_7382376022135164089_oSecondly, after several frustrating years things are finally looking up at work. 2017 is going to be a challenging and fascinating year; I might not have time to post as often as I’d like to, but I’ll try to keep this blog ticking over.

In a spirit of (possibly unfounded) end-of-year optimism can I point you in the direction of the following enjoyable things, in no particular order:

20160715_141929

Thank you to everyone who has made 2016 memorable for me, including Heather McGregor, Jen Ross, Gill Ferrell and the guy who rented pedalos to us in Beziers.

I don’t think 2016 will be remembered as the worst year for humanity. There’s always the potential for it to do even more idiotic things in 2017.

So onwards and upwards to one and all.

Leave a Reply

